Get all your Red Hot chili Peppers lyrics!



Mothers Milk

Mother's Milk cover


All songs written by Red Hot Chili Peppers, except where noted.

1. "Good Time Boys"
2. "Higher Ground" (Stevie Wonder)
3. "Subway to Venus"
4. "Magic Johnson"
5. "Nobody Weird Like Me"
6. "Knock Me Down"
7. "Taste the Pain"
8. "Stone Cold Bush" (Frusciante, Kiedis, Flea, Smith, D. H. Peligro)
9. "Fire" (Jimi Hendrix)
10. "Pretty Little Ditty"
11. "Punk Rock Classic"
12. "Sexy Mexican Maid" (Frusciante, Kiedis, Flea, Smith, Peligro)
13. "Johnny, Kick a Hole in the Sky"

Mother's Milk Story

Mother's Milk is the fourth studio album by Red Hot Chili Peppers, following "The Uplift Mofo Party Plan." It was released in 1989, and was produced by Michael Beinhorn. Mother's Milk made it into Billboards top 200 albums and peaked at #52. The album has sold one million copies, and is certified platinum.

Before Mother's Milk was released, former guitarist Hillel Slovak died of a speedball overdose. This led to drummer Jack Irons leaving Red Hot Chili Peppers. After some tryouts, the band fell on the decision to hire guitarist John Fusciante and drummer Chad Smith.

Mother's Milk was originally planed to be named The Rockin' Freakapotamus, but after Slovak's death the recordings were stopped. Now the fan club of Red Hot Chili Peppers is named The Rockin' Freakapotamus.

During the recording of Mother's Milk, there was some arguments over Frusciante's guitar work. Michael Beinhorn preferred the standard practice of layering guitar tracks, while Frusciante preferred a more dry sound. In the end Frusciante had to give in to Beinhorn. Because of this, much of Mother's Milks guitar work sounds differently than the other albums Frusciente featured in.

Mother's Milk and singles achievements

Album Acheivements
Mother's Milk Billboard top 200 album chart, #52


Single Achievements
Higher Ground Modern Rock Tracks #11

Mainstream Rock Tracks #26

Knock Me Down Modern Rock Tracks #6


All Mother's Milk lyrics are property and copyright of their respective authors, artists and labels. All Mother's Milk lyrics provided for educational purposes only.

Copyright 2008 - Red Hot Chili Peppers lyrics